When Your Face Came Rising

 

How necessary love is to our existence and to our awareness of existence. How joyous. How fragile. How terrifying. 
The following is one of my favorite poems. I have (I know it is kind of sacrilegious) italicized my favourite bits.

When Your Face Came Rising
Yevgeny Yevtushenko
When your face came rising
above my crumpled life,
the only thing I understood at first
was how meager were all my possessions.
But your face cast a peculiar glow
on forests, seas, and rivers,
initiating into the colors of the world
uninitiated me.
I’m so afraid, I’m so afraid,
the unexpected dawn might end,
ending the discoveries, tears, and raptures,
but I refuse to fight this fear. 
This fear – I understand-
is love itself. I cherish this fear,
not knowing how to cherish,
I, careless guardian of my love.
This fear has ringed me tightly.
These moments are so brief, I know,
and, for me, the colors will disappear
when once your face has set…



1 Comment

Leave a Reply

