Morning Meditation


I rise at 6 a.m. and tiptoe to my Magic Cottage, a cup of tea in hand. I close the door behind me and breathe into my space. I light candles and settle myself for meditation, some yoga, and quiet reading, writing or drawing. I remain undisturbed. 

At 7 a.m. a knock on the glass door interupts me; my little girl with her blankie in hand. She slips in and curls up in the papasan chair. I go back to my musings. Before we return to the world beyond the cottage, we snuggle together coveting our precious stillness. 

Although I arrived on my mat an hour earlier, I feel that this time with my girl is my true meditation, my knowledge that this is THE moment, a moment that shall one day be gone and left only to memory. How can I balance my present loving with my future yearning?

Yours,

Zinnia

Leave a Reply

