John Muir Does Yoga

john muir-001.jpg

One of my favorite essays by John Muir is A Windstorm in the Forest. He climbs as high up a tree as he can during a windstorm in the mountain woods. It is from this experience that he muses:

We all travel the milky way together, trees and men, but it never occurred to me until this storm day, while swinging in the wind, that trees are travellers in the ordinary sense. They make many journeys, not extensive ones it is true, but our own little journeys away and back again, are only a little more than tree wavings -many of them not so much.

I hope you enjoy it too. Maybe climb a tree next time you hike a mountain. I think I will.

Love,

Zinnia

p.s. this illustration is new to my etsy shop:)

Leave a Reply

